Highest Run chase in the IPL: Punjab set a world record by chasing 262 runs

vision11 banner ads

Highest Run chase in the IPL: As you all know, The Indian Premier League is one of the most famous exciting, and entertaining T20 cricket leagues in the world. Since its inception in 2008, the tournament has witnessed many exhilarating matches, with several high-scoring chases. And in this article, we will discuss about the “Top 10 highest run chase in the IPL“.

Top 10 Highest Run Chase in the IPL History

The highest run chase in IPL history is 262, which was achieved by Punjab Kings (PBKS) against KKR in the 2024 IPL season tournament. The match was played on April 26, 2024, at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. In which Kolkata Knight Riders batting first set a target of 261 runs in front of Punjab Kings.

And chasing which, the Punjab Kings team scored 262 runs for the loss of only 2 wickets, in this highest run-chasing match, Jonny Bairstow scored 108 runs off 48 balls, while Prabhsimran Singh and Shaanank Singh also contributed half-centuries. And Punjab Kings won by 8 wickets.

TeamTarget ScoreChase ScoreAgainst TeamStadiumDate of Match
Punjab Kings261262/2KKRKolkata 26 April 2024
Rajasthan Royals223224/8 KKRKolkata 16 April 2024
Rajasthan Royals224226/6PBKSSharjah27 Sep 2020
Mumbai Indians219219/6CSKDelhi01 May 2021
Rajasthan Royals215217/7DCHyderabad24 April 2008
Mumbai Indians214216/4PBKSMohali03 May 2023
Sunrisers Hyderabad 214215/6RRJaipur07 May 2023
Lucknow Super Giants212213/9RCBBengaluru10 April 2023
Mumbai Indians212214/4RRMumbai30 April 2023
Delhi Capitals209214/3Gujarat LionsDelhi04 May 2017
Kings XI Punjab206211/4SRHHyderabad14 May 2014
Lucknow Super Giants211211/4CSKMumbai31 March 2022
Punjab Kings206208/5RCBMumbai27 March 2022
Chennai Super Kings206208/5RCBChennai12 April 2012
Highest Run chase in the IPL History

PBKS vs KKR (26 April 2024) – Target 261

Punjab Kings set a new IPL record for the highest run chase on April 26, 2024. They chased down a target of 262 set by Kolkata Knight Riders with 8 wickets remaining.

PBKS vs RR (27 Sep 2020) – Target 224

The 2nd record for the highest run chase in the IPL was held by the Rajasthan Royals, who chased down 224 runs against Kings XI Punjab in 2020.

KKR vs RR (16 April 2024) – Target 223

The Rajasthan Royals also feature at number three on the list of highest run chases, having chased down 223 runs against Kolkata on April 16, 2024.

MI vs CSK (21 May 2021) – Target 219

Mumbai Indian Teams are fourth on the list of highest run chases in IPl history so far, having chased down 219 runs against Chennai Super Kings in April 2021.

RR vs DC (24 April 2008) – Target 215

Rajasthan Royals are again in fifth place, having chased down 215 runs against Deccan Chargers on April 24, 2008.

Highest Run chase by IPL team [200 Runs chase]

The team of Punjab Kings (PBKS) is at the forefront of the Highest Run chase in IPL history so far, and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at number two, who have chased the Highest Run chase more than 3 times in IPL history.

Apart from this, the names of the rest of the teams are given below, who have chased the highest run in IPL history for the maximum number of times in IPL history so far.

Team NameTotal
Punjab Kings (PBKS)5 times
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)3 times
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)3 times
Rajasthan Royals (RR)2 times
Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)2 time
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)1 time
Mumbai Indians (MI)3 Time
Delhi Capitals (DC)1 Time
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)1 Time
Gujarat Titans (GT)0 Time

Read Also


What is the highest run chase in IPL history?

The record for the highest run chase in IPL history was recently broken in the 2024 season! Punjab Kings chased down a massive total of 262 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders.

What is the highest run chase in IPL 2024?

The IPL 2024 season is the only season in which Punjab Kings have achieved the highest run chase in IPL history, chasing down 261 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders.

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment