Top 10 Most Centuries in IPL History [Updated 2024]

vision11 banner ads

Most Centuries in IPL: Virat Kohli leads the IPL with Eight Centuries, all scored for Royal Challengers Bangalore, making him the top century-maker in the league’s history.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a stage for extraordinary batting feats since its inception, and a select few have consistently dazzled fans with their ability to reach the magical three-figure mark.

In this article we will look into the careers of the top ten centurions in IPL history, illustrating their impact on the game and their franchises.

Top 10 Most Centuries in IPL 

RankPlayerTeamsCenturiesHighest ScoreRuns
1Virat Kohli (RCB)RCB8113*7693
2Jos ButtlerMI/RR71243508
3Chris GayleKKR/KXIP/PBKS/RCB6175*4965
5Shane WatsonCSK/RCB/RR4117*3874
6David WarnerDC/SRH41266564
7Shubman GillGT/KKR31293094
8Sanju SamsonDC/RR31194202
9AB de VilliersDC/RCB3133*5162
10Hashim AmlaKXIP2104*577
Top 10 Most Centuries in IPL 

Who Has Scored Most Centuries in IPL?

Virat Kohli (RCB) – 8 Centuries

Virat Kohli, the iconic batsman of Royal Challengers Bangalore, leads with eight centuries, the highest in IPL history.

His highest score of 113 underlines his role as an important figure in RCB, scoring a total of 7,693 runs which shows his exceptional batting skills and consistency over the years from 2008 to 2024.

Jos Buttler (MI/RR) – 7 Centuries

Jos Buttler has redefined the role of an explosive opener with his seven centuries for Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals.

His highest score of 124 and a total of 3,508 runs, achieved with a striking rate of 148.20 since 2016, reflect his dynamic and impactful batting style.

Chris Gayle (KKR/KXIP/PBKS/RCB) – 6 Centuries

Chris Gayle, known as the ‘Universal Boss,’ is renowned for his six centuries and the record-breaking highest score of 175 in IPL.

Playing for various teams like KKR, KXIP, PBKS, and RCB from 2009 to 2021, Gayle’s powerful hitting has scored 4,965 runs, making him a legendary figure in IPL.

KL Rahul (KXIP/LSG/PBKS/RCB/SRH) – 4 Centuries

KL Rahul is celebrated for his elegant and effective batting style, scoring four centuries and 4,474 runs.

His highest score of 132 reflects his ability to anchor innings and accelerate scoring, marking him as a versatile and dependable player across several teams since 2013.

Shane Watson (CSK/RCB/RR) – 4 Centuries

Shane Watson, with his all-round capabilities, has scored four centuries, including a high score of 117.

His performances for CSK, RCB, and RR from 2008 to 2020 have been crucial, amassing 3,874 runs and showing his skills as a match-winner in critical situations.

David Warner (DC/SRH) – 4 Centuries

David Warner, the formidable opener for DC and SRH, has notched up four centuries since 2009.

With a high score of 126 and a total of 6,564 runs, Warner’s aggressive yet consistent batting has been a cornerstone for his teams’ successes in the IPL.

Shubman Gill (GT/KKR) – 3 Centuries

Emerging talent Shubman Gill has already hit three centuries at a young age, including a high score of 129 for GT and KKR since 2018.

playerzpot ads banner 2024

His total of 3,094 runs highlights his potential and promise as a future star in cricket.

Sanju Samson (DC/RR) – 3 Centuries

Sanju Samson, known for his flamboyant and fearless batting, has three centuries to his name, including a high score of 119.

Since 2013, he has scored 4,202 runs for DC and RR, showing his ability to play big innings and his evolution as a key player in the IPL.

AB de Villiers (DC/RCB) – 3 Centuries

AB de Villiers, the dynamic South African, has thrilled IPL fans with three centuries, achieving a high score of 133.

His innovative batting helped him score 5,162 runs for DC and RCB from 2008 to 2021, making him one of the most beloved and spectacular players in IPL history.

Hashim Amla (KXIP) – 2 Centuries

Hashim Amla, known for his class and technique, scored two centuries for KXIP within a short IPL stint from 2016 to 2017.

His highest score of 104 and total runs of 577 in just 16 matches shows his efficiency and skill in adapting to the T20 format.


Who Has The Most Centuries In IPL?

Virat Kohli leads the IPL with Eight Centuries, all scored for Royal Challengers Bangalore, making him the top century-maker in the league’s history.

Who Scored 5 Centuries In IPL?

No player has precisely Five Centuries in the IPL; notable are Chris Gayle with six and players like KL Rahul and David Warner with four each.

Who Scored 4 Centuries In IPL?

Players with Four Centuries in the IPL include KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab, Lucknow Super Giants), Shane Watson (Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals), and David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad).

Who Hit The First 100 In IPL?

The first IPL century was scored by Brendon McCullum, who hit a stunning 158* for Kolkata Knight Riders in the very first IPL match in 2008.

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment