Purple Cap Holder List 2023

vision11 banner ads
Bowler M O W AVG
Harshal Patel (PBKS) 14 49 24 19.88
Jasprit Bumrah (MI) 13 51.5 20 16.80
Varun Chakravarthy (KKR) 14 48 20 19.65
Arshdeep Singh (PBKS) 14 50.2 19 26.58
T Natarajan (SRH) 12 46.2 18 23.50
Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 14 54 18 28.44
Tushar Deshpande (CSK) 13 48 17 24.94
Harshit Rana (KKR) 12 38.1 17 21.12
Khaleel Ahmed (DC) 14 50 17 28.18
Mukesh Kumar (DC) 10 35.3 17 21.65

Purple Cap Holder 2023: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular T20 cricket tournaments in the world. Every year, the IPL brings together the best players from around the globe to compete for the ultimate prize of being crowned champions. One of the most coveted awards in the IPL is the Purple Cap, which is awarded to the bowler with the most wickets in the tournament.

So If you are also watching IPL season 16 and want to know about which bowler has taken the Purple cap till now, then you can continue with this article and you can know which bowler holds Purple Cap this year & also a purple cap holder List 2023, So let’s know IPL 2023 Purple cap holder list & stats.

Purple Cap Holder List 2023

In the IPL 2023 match so far, the following bowlers are at the forefront of this race for the purple cap 2023. And in this Purple Cap Holder List 2023, Gujarat Titans Fast and Spin Bowler Mohammed Shami is at number one with 19 wickets, While Rashid Khan is at number two position. so let’s know which 5 Bowlers have a purple cap on their head so far.

PositionsPlayer NameTeamMATCHESBBIRunsEconWICKETS
1Mohammed ShamiGT114/113117.2319
2Rashid KhanGT113/143568.0919
3Tushar DeshpandeCSK113/4539610.3319
4Piyush ChawlaMI103/222807.1717
5Yuzi Chahal RR114/173308.0817
purple cap holder in ipl 2023

What is a Purple cap?

Purple Cap is a type of IPL award, and this award is given to those IPL players who have taken the most wickets in IPL with their bowling. And this cap is given at the end of every season to the player who has taken the most wickets, and the Purple Cap is the dream award for any bowler in the IPL.

IPL Purple Cap Award Rule

The Purple Cap award in the IPL is usually given to the IPL bowlers who have taken the most wickets in that IPL season.

And apart from this, if two bowlers take the same number of wickets in a season, then on the basis of the economy rate of that bowler, he is given a purple cap. The one who has a good economy rate is given a purple cap.

Therefore, along with taking wickets, the bowler has to perform excellent bowling, only then he can become the Purple Cap winner in the IPL.

Some facts related to IPL Purple Cap

  • The first IPL purple cap was received by Pakistani bowler Sohail Tanvir, and he took 22 wickets in the first season of IPL. In this way, he is the first player in IPL history to get the Purple Cap.
  • So far, there are only two bowlers in IPL history who have won the Purple Cap twice, and the first name comes from Chennai Super King’s star bowler Dwayne Bravo, while the second name comes from Sunrisers Hyderabad’s swing bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar.
  • There are only two players to get the Purple Cap with the most wickets in IPL history, in which the first name is again Dwayne Bravo, who took 32 wickets in the 2013 IPL season and won the Purple Cap. While the second name is of Indian player Harshal Patel, who also won the Purple Cap by taking 32 wickets in IPL season 2021.
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the first bowler in IPL history to have won the Purple Cap in two consecutive IPL seasons (2016 and 2017).

Note: The Purple Cap is not just an individual award, but it also signifies the contribution of the bowler towards his team’s success. It is a testament to the bowler’s skill and consistency throughout the tournament.

Read More:

Orange Cap Holder List 2022

IPL Purple Cap Winners List all time from 2008 to 2021

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment