WPL Winner 2024: Mandhana ends RCB’s trophy drought, becomes WPL 2024 champion

vision11 banner ads

WPL Winner 2024: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has won the title of Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024! RCB defeated Delhi Capitals by 8 wickets in an exciting final played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on March 17 to become the champions.

And This is the first time that RCB has won the WPL title. They had previously finished as a bottom in point table in 2023. So Let’s Know About “WPL Winner 2024” in Details.

WPL Winner 2024 Final Match Highlight

  • RCB’s captain Smriti Mandhana won the toss and elected to field first.
  • Delhi Capitals were bowled out for 113 runs in 19.3 overs.
  • Sophie Molineux took 3 wickets for 13 runs for RCB.
  • Ellyse Perry scored 35 runs off 37 balls for RCB.
  • RCB won the match by 8 wickets with 3 balls to spare.

Delhi Capitals Women vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Women, Final Match Details

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to bat first, but could only score 113 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Sophie Molineux bowled brilliantly for RCB and took 3 wickets to be the player of the match.

In reply, RCB chased down the target in 19.3 overs. Ellyse Perry scored a crucial of 42 runs and played a key role in the team’s victory. Deepti Sharma was adjudged the player of the tournament for her all-round performance.

And This is a memorable moment for RCB. The team played brilliantly throughout the tournament and made a strong comeback in the final to become the champions.

rcb WPL winner 2024
WPL winner 2024

Smriti Mandhana and Sophie give Bangalore a great start

Royal Challengers Bangalore, chasing a small target, got off to a great start. Captain Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Devine started putting pressure on the Delhi bowlers slowly. Soon, Sophie opened the field with a four and a six, while Smriti Mandhana decided to move forward wisely. However, in the first ball of the 9th over, Shikha Pandey gave Delhi their first wicket by LBW.

WPL 2024 Records

If we talk about the records of WPL 2024, then all the records from Orange Cap to Purple Cap are with the Royal Challengers Bangalore team. While the record for the highest run score is in the name of Harmanpreet Kaur, and information about the rest of the WPL 2024 Records is given below

Most runs – Ellyse Perry (347)
Highest strike rate – Issy Wong (250)
Highest Score – Harmanpreet Kaur 95* runs
Most sixes – Shefali Verma (17), Richa Ghosh (10)
Most wickets – Shreyanka Patil (13 Wickets)

WPL 2024 award winners List

Most Valuable Player: Deepti Sharma
Purple Cap: Shreyanka Patil
Emerging Player: Shreyanka Patil
Orange Cap: Ellyse Perry
Best Catch: Sanjeevan Sajana.
Best Strike rate: Georgia Wareham.

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment