Biggest victories in IPL

vision11 banner ads

Biggest victories in IPL: The world’s toughest T20 cricket league is known for its high quality and competitive form of cricket. The Indian premier league always provides thrilling games and close encounters. But a few times some outstanding teamwork and some individual great performance shows pure dominance against the opposition.

This brilliant performance completely outplayed the opposition and registered one side victory. In this article let’s have a look at the top 5 matches with the biggest victory margins in terms of runs. 

Top 5 Biggest Victories in IPL History

Here is the list of the Top 5 Biggest Victories in IPL History so far

Winner TeamTargetOppositionMarginYear
Mumbai Indians213Delhi Capitals146 runs2017
Royal Challengers Bangalore249Gujarat Lions144 runs2016
Kolkata Knight Riders223Royal Challengers Bangalore140 runs2008
Royal Challengers Bangalore227Punjab Kings138 runs2015
Royal Challengers Bangalore264Pune Warriors130 runs2013

And the first name in this list comes from Mumbai Indians, who won a with a big margin of 146 runs against Delhi Capitals in the 2017 IPL season.

And in this list, the name of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team comes up three times, which has done this feat thrice. Apart from this, the name of the Kolkata Knight Riders team also comes in this list.

5. RCB vs PWI, 2013: 130 runs 

First time Royal Challengers Bangalore was wearing the green jersey on that day and made this day so special by registering somany records. This match is known for Christopher Henry Gayle, Gayle registered the fastest hundred of Indian premier league in just 30 balls.

Gayle made unbeaten 175 runs in 66 balls. The Caribbean Big man smashed bowlers all over the park by hitting 13 fours and 17 Maximus. In that match Gayle also hit 28 runs in Mitchell Marsh over.

Royal Challengers made the highest team total of 263/5 in 20 overs. Both records of highest individual total by ‘Universe Boss’ 175* and the 263 team total by RCB looks so difficult to break. In the reply, Pune Warriors failed to match C. Gayle’s score and Royal Challengers Bangalore won the match by 130 runs.

4. RCB vs KXIP, 2015: 138 runs

One more time the Gayle storm came and blew away the Kings XI Punjab. Gayle scored 117 runs in 57 balls with the help of 12 sixes and 7 fours. AB de Villiers played an innings of 47 runs in 24 balls. RCB scored a mountain-like total of 226 runs. Kings XI Punjab has no answer to the fiery spell of Mitchell Starc and Srinath Arvind’s good bowling. Both the bowlers got four wickets each. Kings XI Punjab were bowled out for just 88 runs and Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 138 runs.

3. KKR vs RCB, 2008: 144 runs

The opening game of the Indian Premier League is known for the blistering inning of Brendon McCullum. On April 18 at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru’s first game of IPL played, in that match Kolkata Knight Riders opener Brendon McCullum made a brilliant hundred.

A masterclass by Kiwi batter gives a flying start to Indian Premier League. McCullum massacred RCB bowling by scoring 158 in just 73 balls, 10 fours and 13 sixes all over the park. Kolkata set a massive target of 223. In the end Royal Challengers Bangalore did not recover from McCullum’s blow and surrendered by just 82 runs. Kolkata Knight Riders recorded 140 runs victory in the inaugural game.

2. RCB vs GL, 2016: 144 runs

Once again a green jersey and Royal Challengers Bangalore; this time two greats from the game showed their high quality skills. Virat Kohli and AB Devilliers both scored in three figures; Virat Kohli 109(55) with 5 fours and 8 sixes and AB Devilliers 129*(52) in that 10 fours and 12 big hits. 229 runs are the highest partnership of Indian Premier League registered by these two legends.

playerzpot ads banner 2024

This duo makes Gujrat Lions bowlers clueless. Royal Challengers Bangalore after 20 overs managed to 248/3. Gujarat Lions all out for 104 in 18.4 overs. Chris Jordan took 5 wickets in his 3 overs and Yuzvendra Chahal completed his spell of 4 overs by taking 3 Gujrat batters out. Royal Challengers Bangalore 144 runs win is second biggest win in IPL.

1. MI vs DC, 2017: 146 runs

The biggest win in terms of runs comes in this match, Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 146 runs on 6 May 2017. Mumbai Indians put up a massive total of 212 after 20 overs; Lendl Simmons 66(43), Kieron Pollard 63(35), Hardik Pandya 29(14).

In reply Delhi Daredevils all out in just 66 runs; only three players scored in double figures. Karn Sharma and Harbhajan Singh took 3 wickets each, Lasith Malinga dismissed two batters in two overs and just considered  5 runs. Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell McClenaghan also took one wicket. Lendl Simmons was awarded with player of the match for his 66 with bat. This margins of 146 runs win is the biggest in IPL history. 

Read Also:

Best Bowling Figures in IPL

Highest Run chase in the IPL

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment