Who is the Most time winner of the ICC Women’s T20 Worldcup?

vision11 banner ads

Most time winner of the ICC Women’s T20 Worldcup: Well it shouldn’t be surprising but the answer is Australia . The Australian women’s cricket team is a dominant force in the world of women’s cricket., having dominated the game for several years. One of their biggest achievements is their remarkable performance in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, having won the tournament six times, which is more than any other team in the world.

The Women’s T20 World Cup was first held in 2009, and Australia since then, has gone on to win six titles in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2020, and 2023. In the process, they have set new benchmarks and raised the bar for women’s cricket across the globe.

The team’s success can be attributed to the presence of some of the best players in the world. They have consistently produced world-class cricketers who have not only helped the team win but have also taken the game to new heights. Players like Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, and Beth Mooney have been instrumental in the team’s success and have played crucial roles in winning the T20 World Cup.

Apart from having a talented squad, the Australian Women’s Cricket Team also boasts of excellent team culture and a winning mentality. The team has always believed in playing aggressive cricket and has never shied away from taking risks. They have an attacking style of play, which is a treat for cricket lovers.

The team’s dominance in the Women’s T20 World Cup has made them one of the most successful teams in women’s cricket. They have consistently set high standards and have been an inspiration to many aspiring cricketers across the globe. The Australian Women’s Cricket Team’s six T20 World Cup titles are a testament to their hard work, dedication, and commitment to the sport.

[Since 2009 to 2023] ICC Women’s T20 Worldcup Winner List All time

Here is the complete list of CC Women’s T20 Worldcup Winner List since 2009 to 2023

YearWinner TeamRunner-upHost Nation
2009EnglandNew ZealandEngland
2010AustraliaNew ZealandWest Indies
2012AustraliaEnglandSri Lanka
2016West IndiesAustraliaIndia
2018AustraliaEnglandWest Indies
2023AustraliaSouth AfricaSouth Africa

Winners for the 6th time!!

Australia lifted the T20 World Cup for the sixth time after beating South Africa in the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023. The world’s top-ranked team posted 156/6 with Beth Mooney top-scoring with 74*.

The Australian bowlers put up an excellent display, throttling the scoring rate of South Africa’s openers at the start of the reply, conceding just 22 runs in the Powerplay. Darcie Brown’s electric performance sent the in-form Tazmin Brits back to the dugout.

However, Laura Wolvaardt’s impressive display of big shots raised hopes for South Africa, as she quickly surged to 61 runs off 48 balls. Despite Wolvaardt’s efforts, Megan Schutt dismissed her and Jess Jonassen took care of the dangerous Chloe Tryon, making it difficult for South Africa to maintain the required rate of scoring in the death overs. As a result, Australia won the match by 19 runs, securing yet another addition to their trophy cabinet.

Most time winner of the ICC Women's T20 Worldcup 2022

With this win, Australia has secured their sixth Women’s T20 World Cup title and achieved a ‘three-peat’ under the leadership of captain Meg Lanning, triumphing in 2018, 2020, and now in 2023. The Australian team, led by Meg Lanning, celebrated their victory in grand style as they lifted the trophy at Newlands in Cape Town.

At Newlands, there was an emotional atmosphere as the home crowd seized the chance to back their national team in a senior World Cup final, with a packed stadium. As the anthems played, Marizanne Kapp wasn’t the only one moved to tears, and the excitement was palpable as South Africa took the field after being invited to bowl first by Australian captain Meg Lanning.

Following the poignant national anthem performances, Australia’s opening batswomen calmly navigated the early overs, diffusing the charged atmosphere. However, the first breakthrough came when Nadine de Klerk caught out Alyssa Healy for 18, off the bowling of Kapp.

Ash Gardner was given a higher position in the batting order by Australia, preceding Meg Lanning. However, a remarkable first over from Shabnim Ismail limited the score to just 36/1 at the end of the Powerplay.

Nevertheless, the choice to advance Gardner up the order proved fruitful as she hit back-to-back sixes to increase the scoring rate.
Star Australian all-rounder, Beth Mooney, was named Player of the Tournament after her match-winning knock in the final, earning Australia their sixth T20 World Cup title.

Meg Lanning – The superstar

Meg Lanning has emerged as a superstar, having led the team to a record three consecutive victories, including back-to-back wins in 2018 and 2020, and another triumph in 2023
As captain, Lanning is known for her astute leadership and tactical acumen on the field. She is also a formidable batswoman, known for her aggressive strokeplay and ability to score quickly. Lanning has numerous records to her name, including being the fastest player (male or female) to score 2000 runs in T20 international cricket. Her contributions both as a player and captain have been instrumental in Australia’s success in women’s cricket.

GST Free & Lowest Entry Fees App | Sign Up and Get ₹500 Free!

Refer Code: CRICGRAM

PlayerzPot banner ads World Cup

Leave a Comment